PDA

View Full Version : 7.5 Earthquake in Northern Peru


Bard
09-25-2005, 08:47 PM
That's all I know right now.


05/09/26 01:55:34.58
NORTHERN PERU
Epicenter: -5.657 -76.366
MW 7.5

Bard
09-26-2005, 08:31 AM
2005/09/26 01:55 M 7.5 NORTHERN PERU Z= 85km 5.66S 76.37W

This information is provided by the USGS
National Earthquake Information Center.
(Address problems to: sedas@ghtmail.cr.usgs.gov)

These parameters are preliminary and subject to revision.

A magnitude 7.5 earthquake IN NORTHERN PERU has occurred at:
5.66S 76.37W Depth 85km Mon Sep 26 01:55:34 2005 UTC

Time: Universal Time (UTC) Mon Sep 26 01:55:34 2005
Time Near Epicenter Sun Sep 25 20:55:34 2005
Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) Sun Sep 25 21:55:34 2005
Central Daylight Time (CDT) Sun Sep 25 20:55:34 2005
Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) Sun Sep 25 19:55:34 2005
Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) Sun Sep 25 18:55:34 2005
Alaska Daylight Time (ADT) Sun Sep 25 17:55:34 2005
Hawaii Standard Time (HST) Sun Sep 25 15:55:34 2005

Location with respect to nearby cities:
75 km (50 miles) NE of Moyobamba, Peru (pop 31,000)
175 km (110 miles) ENE of Chachapoyas, Peru
645 km (400 miles) SSE of QUITO, Ecuador
715 km (445 miles) N of LIMA, Peru

Bard
09-26-2005, 08:35 AM
Quake in northern Peru kills four

Monday, September 26, 2005; Posted: 12:23 a.m. EDT (04:23 GMT)



(CNN) -- A major earthquake with a magnitude of 7.5 rocked northern Peru Sunday night, killing at least four people, authorities said.

According to civil defense officials, the fatalities occurred in the city of Lamas.

The quake struck an area about 445 miles (715 km) north of the Peruvian capital Lima about 8:56 p.m. (9:56 p.m. EDT), the U.S. Geological Survey said.

The epicenter was roughly 53 miles (85 km) below the surface.

Peru's Geophysics Institute said the quake was centered about 60 miles (100 km) northeast of the jungle city of Moyobamba, The Associated Press reported.

"Several houses have fallen down and there are several people dead," Carlos Mori, a resident of Lamas, near Moyobamba, told Radioprogramas, AP said. "All of the residents of Lamas are in the streets. Most of the people are helping."

The earthquake was felt throughout Peru's northern coast and as far away as Bogota, Colombia.

It was the strongest earthquake to strike Peru since a devastating 8.1-magitude temblor hit the Arequipa province in southern Peru in June 2001, killing at least 75 people and leaving tens of thousands homeless.

The USGS Web site is at: http://earthquake.usgs.gov/recenteqsww/Quakes/usdlad.htm

Bard
09-26-2005, 03:02 PM
A magnitude 5.6 earthquake IN ETHIOPIA has occurred at:
12.44N 40.47E Depth 10km Sat Sep 24 19:24:03 2005 UTC

Time: Universal Time (UTC) Sat Sep 24 19:24:03 2005
Time Near Epicenter Sat Sep 24 22:24:03 2005
Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) Sat Sep 24 15:24:03 2005
Central Daylight Time (CDT) Sat Sep 24 14:24:03 2005
Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) Sat Sep 24 13:24:03 2005
Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) Sat Sep 24 12:24:03 2005
Alaska Daylight Time (ADT) Sat Sep 24 11:24:03 2005
Hawaii Standard Time (HST) Sat Sep 24 09:24:03 2005

Location with respect to nearby cities:
160 km (100 miles) SE of Mekele, Ethiopia (pop 96,000)
255 km (160 miles) WSW of Assab, Eritrea
305 km (190 miles) WNW of DJIBOUTI, Djibouti
425 km (265 miles) NNE of ADDIS ABABA, Ethiopia