PDA

View Full Version : Number 754

Bard
07-27-2007, 09:07 PM
:tiphat

http://sports.aol.com/moresports/story/_a/bonds-hits-754th-homer-1-short-of-aaron/n20070727235909990001

iwizzdindapunchbowl
07-27-2007, 10:55 PM
I'm about the biggest Giants fan on earth.. lol..

Have been since a wee kid..

My collection of Giants memoribilia includes a Willie mays rookie card and an autographed baseball with both Mays and his godson Bonds signatures and "660" on it. Which was of course celebrates a momentous occassion when Barry tied Willie in homeruns..

Here is a pic of me as a kid in the mid 80's at a giants game at old candlestick park..

http://i20.photobucket.com/albums/b212/drhobbie/scan2.gif

This is a moment I've been waiting for for years.. Barry gets his record any day now.... I'm a senior resident and have been for years at the sfgiants.com message board.

I've spent the last 4 years beating off media sheep who doubt and disregard Barry's acomplishments due to the ALLEGATIONS of steroid use.. It's been a hobby of mine..lol

Noguru
07-28-2007, 03:53 AM
due to the ALLEGATIONS of steroid use.. It's been a hobby of mine..lol

:biglaugh

clemiedog
07-28-2007, 06:46 AM
I'm sort of mixed on this. Bonds has never proven to take the juice, but the circumstantial evidence is there - even the guy's head grew! Bonds is also an asshole.

Hank Aaron, OTH, was a class act from beginning to end. As a black athlete, he had to play one season in the Negro Leagues, for the Indianapolis Clowns, no less (how the hell can a professional team be called the Clowns?) He took racist shit every spring down in Florida and got redneck hate mail by the buckets when he approached Ruth's record. He needed protection in some cities because of the hatred. So in some ways, it's a shame that Hank will no longer be the all-time home run king.

I suppose one could put an asterisk by Aaron's 755 - most home runs by a baseball player, and not some doped up, steroid fueled freakazoid.